Map of Worcestershire

This map of Worcestershire lists all the important administrative and tourist locations of the province, as well as its surroundings. This makes this map of Worcestershire the perfect tool for finding the best routes to get to your destination. The information provided by this map of Worcestershire is essential to design a well-planned travel, including booking of the hotel rooms making reservations with a good car hire service.

This is a map of the City of Worcester. This map should provide a good understanding of the area, including roads, streets and provincial divides.

Map Of Worcestershire

Often referred to by Worcester, The City of Worcester is Worcestershire’s county town, it also holds a city status. Located in England, specifically the Western Midlands region. Birmingham is around 17 miles (27km) northeast of Worcester, and Gloucester is about 23(37km) miles to the south of the town. Worcester’s population totals just over 100,000 people.

Running through the centre of the area is the River Severn, and has the Worcester Cathedral overlooking it. There is much history within Worcester, it is home to the grounds where the final battle of the Civil War took place. It was also where King Charles the Second’s Cavaliers were defeated by the New Model Army under the command of Oliver Cromwell. Prior to the 1960’s the city was filled with remnants of medieval times, although the town had them demolished and the areas redeveloped. Although there is still a large amount of medieval history, it is only a small fraction of what there was before.

When the River Severn broke its bank in 1670 the following flood was the worst ever seen in the town, the only time a flood has ever reached close to that height was in 2007.

Worcester is also famous nationwide for being home of the famous Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce. It’s also home to the fastest growing university in the UK, Worcester University.

Before 1974, the city did not include the parishes of Warndon and St Peter the Great County as part of its own. The Local Government Act of 1972 added both parishes into the county.