Map of South Lanarkshire

This map of South Lanarkshire, together with your travel insurance and passport, is one of the things that you should always have on you during a trip to Scotland. By listing the most important cities, the borders and surroundings of the province, this map of South Lanarkshire can be used to research your trip. After deciding upon the major points of interest, you can make online hotel reservations, book plane tickets or find a car hire agency.

This is a map of South Lanarkshire. This map aims to give you a basic understanding of any road, motorways, streets or regional divides of the area.

Map Of South Lanarkshire

South Lanarkshire is a council area of Scotland, one of 31 others. It shares its border with the City of Glasgow. South Lanarkshire contains many of the towns, suburbs, commuter towns, smaller villages that belong to Glasgow. Other areas South Lanarkshire shares borders with are: East Renfrewshire, Dumfries and Galloway, North Lanarkshire, Easy Ayrshire, West Lothian and the Scottish Borders. A part of Lanarkshire, the historic county is included within South Lanarkshire’s borders.

South Lanarkshire has a total population of 311,900 and is ranked 5th in that regard. Hamilton holds South Lanarkshire Council’s headquarters. The headquarters has a budget of just under £1bn and over 16,000 employees. The majority of the council area is varied, and usually takes in upland and rural areas. As well as Urban Burghs such as Rutherglen and Cambuslang and Market towns such as Strathaven and Lanark. East Kilbride was also taken in, and was also the first New Town in Scotland.

In South Lanarkshire, the council has 3 or 4 elected councillors represent one of the 20 council wards.
To represent said ward, the councillors use a Single Transferable vote. A cabinet style system is operated in South Lanarkshire. The Executive Committee takes key decisions with the Council Leader having leadership over them. The Council Leader is approved by the council who is in turn led by the Provost.