Map of Merseyside

A map of Merseyside is essential if you want to travel to England and, along side your travel insurance and your hotel reservation, it is a key element that contributes to the success of your vacation. While in Merseyside, one of the best ways to visit the historical and architectural sights is by car. If you can’t use your personal car, you can find a car hire service near your hotel and, with this map of Merseyside at hand, you are ready to experience the beauty of this English county.

This map of Merseyside aims to show you the provincials divides, roads and landmarks of the county.

Map Of Merseyside

Mersey side is known as a county and is in the North West region England, and holds five boroughs within its boundaries: Knowsley, Sefton, St Helens, Wirral as well as the city of Liverpool. In April 1974, Merseyside was made in accordance to the Local Government Act of 1972. The name derives from a river in the area known as the River Mersey.

With a total population of around 1.38 million people, Merseyside is known to be the 9th most populated county in England. It has just under 250 miles of land and shares borders with 3 counties (Lancashire to the north-east, Greater Manchester to the east, and Cheshire to the south and south-west) and the Irish Sea, with Wales being just across a small amount of the River Dee. Whilst the majority of the land use is urban, there is also a diverse mix of suburbs, rural and high density locations.

The city of Liverpool, within Merseyside is known as the seventh most populous urban area in the country. Liverpool is also the dominating borough within Merseyside and has a much higher population when compared to the other 4 districts.

Like many other counties founded in 1974, Merseyside once had a two-tier system of local government. The five boroughs within the county would share power with the Merseyside County Council. Just like the rest of the counties with a similar system of local government, it had been abolished in 1986 by Margaret Thatcher, effectively making the boroughs unitary authorities.