Map of Lancashire

This map of Lancashire clearly defines this administrative region of England from the surrounding districts and it is perfect for organizing your travels. By consulting this map of Lancashire it will be easy to locate specific destinations. When you know a lot about your destination and its surroundings, it is easy to find the appropriate hotel or an affordable car hire service. This map of Lancashire is an excellent tool for researching your trip because it outlines the most important cities, the capital of the province and the main attractions of the district.

The historic, non-metropolitan origins of Lancashire are located at the North West of England. Popularly known as the County of Lancaster, this area got its name from the famous city of Lancaster. Even though Lancaster remains to be a county town, the Lancashire County Council is based in Preston.

Map Of Lancashire

This ceremonial county has an estimated population of 1,449,300 and they are popularly called as Lancastrians. Its humble beginnings as a county were thought to have begun in its foundation in the 12th century. Some of the land that it covers was believed to belong to Yorkshire and Cheshire. Today, its boundaries have been established to be in the borders of Cumberland, Yorkshire, Westmorland, and Cheshire.

During the Industrial Revolution, Lancashire emerged as one of the major industrial and commercial regions in England. Colleries and mill towns filled the entire county that by 1830s, approximately about 85% of all the cotton products manufactured in the world is processed in Lancashire.

There are twelve different towns in Lancashire that housed the major cotton mills during that time. They are the Preston, Blackburn, Accrington, Bolton, Oldham, Rochdale, Chorley, Nelson, Darwen, Colne, Wigan and Burnley. Alongside the manufacturing of Lancashire, their industry brought a lot of people to visit Blackpool and the tourist spots that it has to offer.

In 1974, the county was subjected to a reform in terms of its physical boundaries. At this time, Manchester and Liverpool were removed to become a part of the metropolitan counties of Greater Manchester and Merseyside respectively. The Duchy of Lancaster submits to the practices of the crown popularly known as County Palatine of Lancaster.