Map of East Ayrshire

This map of East Ayrshire clearly defines this administrative region of Scotland from the surrounding districts and it is perfect for organizing your travels. This map of East Ayrshire illustrates the layout of the province, its borders with other districts and the main cities of this province. If you are planning a trip here, you should research the hotels in the area, the costs of the travel insurance and the location of train stations, airports or car hire services. This map of East Ayrshire can also be used as an orientation tool.

This is a map of East Ayrshire, which aims to provide you with a basic understanding of any roads, motorways, regional and provincial divides and landmarks. As well as giving you a general knowledge of the area.

Map Of East Ayrshire

The council area of East Ayrshire has a total population of 120,200. Which gives it the rank of 16 in that regard. East Ayrshire is one of the 32 council areas within Scotland. East Ayrshire shares its borders with Dumfries and Galloway, South Ayrshire, East Renfrewshire, North Ayrshire and South Lanarkshire. The area used to make up the former county of Ayrshire, along with the mainland areas of North Ayrshire and South Ayrshire.

East Ayrshire’s largest town is Kilmarnock which is then followed by Cumnock. There are other main towns of smaller size which include Stewarton and New Cumnock. It was in 1996 that the are was formed from what used to be the districts of Cumnock and Doon valley and Kilmarnock and Loudoun. Prior to the change, the former district council of Kilmarnock and Loudon was twinned with Sukhum, Abkhazia. Although this connection is now gone, the link is still considered a friendship link.

From 1975 to 1996, Scotland’s Strathclyde region had a total of 19 local government districts, with Kilmarnock and Loudoun being one of them. In 1973, under the Local Government (Scotland) Act the district was formed, made up of parts of the county of Ayrshire. These parts include: The district of Kilmarnock (Excluding a part in Irvine New town) and the burghs of Galston, Stewarton, Newmilns and Greenholm and Darvel.