Map of Devon

Because this is one of the largest provinces in England, you will need a map such as the map of Devon below to help you organize your trip. If you are travelling from abroad by airplane and you are planning to visit more than just the capital of the province, you can find a car hire service and use this map of Devon to drive to your destination. Make sure you packed your travel insurance papers, your passport and hotel reservation confirmation papers, as well as this map of Devon before you leave home.

Devon is one of the counties of England which reaches to the Bristol Channel to the north. It has the English Channel to border it in the south. Being part of the South West of England, Devon has Cornwall as its border in the west while it has Somerset in its northeast. Dorset, located at the east of Devon borders it at that end.

Map Of Devon

The county town of Devon is Exeter while there are seven different districts that are part of the jurisdiction of the Devon County Council. The districts included in the list are West Devon North Devon, South Hams, East Devon, Mid Devon, Teignbridge and Torridge. Although Plymouth and Torbay are still part of Devon, these two districts are unitary authorities which means they are not under the power of the Devon County Council.

When the land area of Devon is combined and seen as a ceremonial county it expands to about 6,700 square miles and has an estimated population of about 1.1 million. The historical origins of Devon rest in its classical antiquity. In fact, its name is derived from the place of Dumnonia, the home of the Dumnonii Celts. The settlement of the Anglo-Saxon in Britain resulted in the partial union of Dumononee and the Wessex Kingdom in the 18th to the 19th century. This assimilation paved the way for the emigration of some Celts to Dumnonee which is not called Brittany and Cornwall.

Since then, Devon was recognised as a shire of the Kingdom of England. Geographically, the county of Devon is the only county in England with two separate coastlines – northern and southern coasts. The county is characterised by the lofty cliffs as well as its sandy shores.