Political Map Of Britain

The Political Map of The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland covers four different countries namely England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. England is further divided into nine different regions including: South West, South East, West Midlands, East Midlands, East, Yorkshire and the Humber, North West, North East and Greater London. These subdivisions have a very limited role in creative public policies.

The nine regions of England consist of a hierarchy in administrative division as well as non-administrative, purely ceremonial areas. In addition to their primary purpose, these counties play a vital role in appointing Lords Lieutenant, otherwise known as the representatives of the area to the government. These 9 regions are further along divided into ceremonial counties. The list below shows the different ceremonial counties contained in each region:

Political map of Britain showing county and country borders

South West: Bristol, Somerset, Wiltshire, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Devon, Cornwall

South East: Buckinghamshire, Hampshire, Kent, Oxfordshire, Surrey, West Sussex, Berkshire, East Sussex, Isle of Wight

West Midlands: Worcestershire, Herefordshire, Staffordshire, Shropshire, Warwickshire

East Midlands: Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire, Derbyshire, Rutland, Leicestershire, and Northamptonshire

Yorkshire and the Humber: West Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, East Riding of Yorkshire, North Yorkshire, Lincolnshire

North West: Cheshire, Cumbria, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, Merseyside

North East: Northumberland, Tyne and Wear, Durham, North Yorkshire

East of England: Essex, Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Norfolk and Suffolk

The ceremonial counties of England are the term used to refer to the different areas in England where Lord Lieutenant is appointed. These areas serve as the local government in the areas of England. The Local Government Act 1888 has mandated county councils with administrative functions to the Quarter Sessions in every county.

England is primarily divided into counties, districts and parishes for the purpose of the local government tracking and implementation of laws. The primary reason for the subdivision is to serve its purpose for the local government. Some areas have two-tier structure of districts and counties while the others have single tier unitary authorities. Only a small part of England is divided into parishes.

The map clearly shows that the 13 largest cities of England are London, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Plymouth, Portsmouth, Bristol, Birmingham, Nottingham, Hull, Norwich, Oxford, , and Dover. Scotland, on the other hand, has nine regions namely Highlands and Islands, Grampian, Central Scotland, Fife, Tayside, Lothian, Strathclyde, Dumfries, The Borders, and Galloway. Furthermore, there are six key cities in Scotland. They are the Edinburgh, Glasgow, Aberdeen, Dundee, Inverness, and Stirling. Birmingham has more than one million in population which has the highest number of residents among the many ceremonial counties.

The incremental reform legislated in 1965 and in 1974 has paved the way for the current system of government. In 1994, the government office regions have been employed as England’s European Parliament constituencies. Every region is distinct based not only the area they cover and their population but also through their contributions to the national economy. Practically all regions have the same status but London which is the largest city in England in terms of political power and land area comes with devolved powers.